Downtown Riverside’s Festival of Lights

Before 2015 ended, my family and I decided to pay a visit to the Festival of Lights in Riverside! After seeing all my friends’ Instagram posts, I suggested the location to my family. Of course, I took a bunch of pictures because not only do I love lights, I also wanted to practice photographing lights at night with my new lens.

DSC_0723DSC_0749DSC_0755DSC_0758DSC_0770DSC_0793

Some pretty gold ornaments in a little Christmas shop we found.

DSC_0807

There were so many food stands! I had to fight the temptation to get donuts, kettle corn, or funnel cakes.

DSC_0813DSC_0817DSC_0846

These were all lights decorating the outside of the historic Mission Inn Hotel. Beautiful!

DSC_0848DSC_0850DSC_0853

A beautiful antique chandelier I found in a shop.

DSC_0864DSC_0886DSC_0899DSC_0910DSC_0912

After taking a look at this area above, we circled back and went back to the Mission Inn.

DSC_0933DSC_0943DSC_0945DSC_0953DSC_0969DSC_0977DSC_0979

We didn’t go inside the Mission Inn, where we were told there was a giant Christmas tree, because the line to get in was about an hour and a half! We decided we didn’t want to wait in the cold for that long. The outside was beautiful enough though, and I’m glad I was able to snap some nice pictures!

On another note, I’ve created a Facebook page for my photographs! That was one of my New Year’s Resolutions: create a Facebook page and maintain it. I think I’ll be using those more for portraits that I take of others, but we’ll see!

I had a lot of fun shooting at the Festival of Lights because in a way, it took me back to my photography roots. I started out taking pictures of different places I had visited, but recently I’ve been doing more portrait photography. I miss shooting pictures of places because of all the details that you can capture. I think many people miss those little details and just focus on the main feature when they travel; however, when I take pictures I like to capture everything. I think it makes me appreciate my surroundings even more.

This post was loaded with pictures, but it was too difficult to pick only a few because the lights are just so beautiful! I’ll probably post a couple on my Facebook page as well, so please go check it out and give it a like!

Leave a Reply

