Griffith Observatory

The other day I went to Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles with my friends and was absolutely blown away! I’ve never been at night but it’s absolutely breathtaking. Pictures definitely don’t do the view justice — it was more than a 180 degree view of the LA lights.

For some reason I didn’t think to bring my tripod so I was very limited on what I could shoot, but I will definitely be returning and will definitely be bringing my tripod next time!

DSC_0640DSC_0642DSC_0641

Views of the Los Angeles skyline.

DSC_0679

A picture that my friend took of me. A rare one that I actually liked!

DSC_0685

I accidentally overexposed this shot, but began playing around with it and was shocked with how cool it turned out. It captured both the bright lights of the city and the star above. Even some moving airplanes!

DSC_0745DSC_0780

Being that Griffith is an observatory, I had to try to get some star shots. But¬†because of the LA lights, the stars don’t shine as bright anymore. Although we did take a look at the telescope and were able to see the Orion Nebula very well!

I haven’t been to Griffith Observatory in a few years, but was extremely happy to return. Even though we didn’t take a look at all the exhibits inside, I found the place much more interesting than before — most likely because of the astronomy class I took last semester. I could finally understand all the different exhibits very thoroughly.

My days in SoCal are now limited since I’ll be returning to Berkeley in a few days. This also means that I won’t be shooting as much because of school. I’m really going to miss being able to go on these adventures, but hopefully I’ll be able to make time during school to shoot some more!

Leave a Reply

